Our People

Board of Directors


Donna Hawrelko


Duncan Parker


Adam Ostrow


Breanne Avender

Director Of Education

John Mattinson

Director of Communications

Archana Jaswani

Director of Membership

Darlene Wong

Past Honorary Directors

Dr. R.T. Boyd, FGA, FCGmA
R.I. Gait, MSc, PhD

Instructors, Staff and Volunteers


Anita Beardwood, FCGmA
Gemmology Accelerated Program Teacher
Conference Chairperson 2014

Anita is one of our two of our Gemmology Accelerated Program’s full-time teachers.  She works along side Mayur Davé
Anita qualified for Fellowship with the CGA in 2000, and has been actively engaged ever since. She has served as Director of Education, taught general interest classes and worked with the CGA in a myriad of other ways. She most recently coordinated a world-class gemmology conference in April of 2014 in Toronto.


Anna Yampolsky, FCGmA, RMV, CAP
Gemmology Program Practical Teacher

Anna Yampolsky is our Gemmology Program’s Practical teacher.  She is a long-time member of the CGA and a teacher with us for the past 4 years.  Anna started her training in Israel where she completed a Diamond Grading Course and worked at the Israeli Diamond Bourse.  Anna earned her Master Valuer diploma and has over 20 years of gemmological experience.


Mayur Davé, FGA, GG, FCGmA
Gemmology Accelerated Program Teacher
Jewellery Associate – Gemmology Specialist Teacher
Gemmology Program – Theory Teacher

Mayur Davé is the other half our our Gemmology Accelerated Program’s full time teachers.  He is also our Gemmology Program’s part-time Theory Teacher, teaching both the first year and second year.  Mayur is a long-time member of the CGA, having served many positions – including our Education Secretary in the 1980’s.  Mayur has also earned his credentials from GEM-A in London, England and The GIA in New York City, USA – both in residence.  Mayur has over 42 years of gemmological experience to share with his students.  Mayur also is a wholesale dealer and supplier of Gemstones and Pearls since 1975.


New Photo for website

JoAnne Larmond
Office Administrator

JoAnne is the smiling face in the Toronto office and looks after the day to day operations for the CGA.


Archana Jaswani, FCGmA
Office Administration

Archana works part-time alongside JoAnne to keep the day to day operations of the CGA running smoothly.

Past Executive Boards and Contributers

The CGA owes sincere thanks to many individuals who have contributed to the Association over the years. Below are listed only a few …

The First executive board of the Canadian Gemmological Association, 1959.

Back row, L to R: Dr R.T. Boyd, D.S.M. Field (President), Arnold Ritchie, Jack Stitt. Front row: Jack Gunning, Robert Wille

The 2009 executive board of the Canadian Gemmological Association.

L to R: Anita Beardwood (Conference Chair), Donna Hawrelko (Director of Education), Duncan Parker (President), Brad Wilson (Vice-President), Jennifer McKercher (Secretary of the Board), Glen King (Treasurer).

CGA Presidents

1958-60 D.S.M Field 1961 Jack W. Gunning
1962 H.A. Creates 1963 Robert Arend
1964 Fred Waddington 1965 Michael Goad
1966 Bernard Hinton 1967 Harry Venables
1968 Jack Stitt 1969 Ed Green
1970 Peter Saalmans 1971-72 Herb Forth
1973-75 Richard Covent 1976 W.D. Goodger
1977 Lloyd Allingham 1978-79 R.M. Coxhead
1980 D.S.M. Field 1981-85 Warren Boyd
1986-88 Jeannine Dykstra 1989-91 Robert Shore
1992 James Hergel 1993-96 Dr Zia Hasan
1996-97 Heida Mani 1997-2014 Duncan Parker
2014-Present Donna Hawrelko